Japan travel guide




Japan Travel Guide

Explore Japan: Central Honshu

Central Honshu or simply Chubu is the intermediate region of the main island of Honshu and is specially the area stretching among Kyoto in the west and Tokyo in the east.

The area involve both, the Japan Sea and Pacific Ocean coastal areas and the nine prefectures of Aichi, Gifu and Shizuoka in the south (Tokai), Fukui, Ishikawa, Toyama on the Japan Sea (Hokuriku) and Yamanashi, Nagano and Niigata (Koshinetsu) to the east.

The region has very diverse climates and landscapes. The weather on the Japan Sea coast is cooler than the hot southern Pacific coast around Nagoya in summer with copious snowfall along the north coast in winter; Winter sports such as skiing and snowboarding are practiced on Nagano, Niigata and Gifu, 3 prefectures whose mountains enjoy of the majesty of the Japan Alps. The Winter Olympics were successfully held in Nagano in 1998.

Back to Explore Japan

About us | Contact us | Privacy | Legal terms | Disclaimer

© 2005 - 2019 - Japan travel guide